History of Kanpur Nagar

Kanpur Nagar, previously Cawnpore, is the largest industrial city of Uttar Pradesh and also is the administrative headquarters of Kanpur Nagar district & Kanpur division. It is known as the Economic and Industrial Capital of Uttar Pradesh. It is also known as Leather City as it contains one of the largest and finest tanneries in India and in South Asia. Widely known as the Manchester of the East, it is one of the oldest industrial townships of North India. It has an area of over 450 km2 with an approximate population of 3 million inhabitants in its area. It is administratively divided into 6 zones and 110 wards with a ward population range of 19,000 to 26,000.[6] It is the 75th largest city in the world


Earlier history of the area

Kanpur's development is unclear until the 13th century. Although no reference to Kanpur is found in written documents before this time, the history of two of its suburbs, Jajmau and Bithoor, can be traced back to pre-13th century times. Bithoor is located about 20 km upstream from the city and is approximately 10 km from the IIT Kanpur campus. Jajmau is about 8 km east of the city and is nearly 20 km downstream from the IIT Campus. According to Hindu mythology, just after creating the universe, Lord Brahma performed the Ashvamedha at Bithoor and established a lingam there. Another legendary site at Bithoor is the Valmiki Ashram, where the famous sage Valmiki is supposed to have written the Sanskrit epic, the Ramayana. According to this epic, Queen Seeta, on being exiled by King Ramachandra of Ayodhya, spent her days in seclusion at the ashram bringing up her twin sons, Lava and Kush.




IIT Kanpur Kanpur has been a centre of education as many prominent universities and colleges are situated here. The world renowned institute in the field of science and technology IIT Kanpur, established in 1959, is situated on Grand Trunk Road. Harcourt Butler Technological Institute (HBTI) is Kanpur's oldest technical institute situated in Nawabganj. Kanpur also boasts of Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi Memorial Medical College ( GSVM Medical College ) which is one of the best medical colleges in the country. Chatrapati Shahau Ji Maharaj University formerly Kanpur University offers courses in various departments at the undergraduate and post-graduate levels. University Institute of Engineering and Technology, Kanpur University, Chandra Shekhar Azad University of Agriculture and Technology, Uttar Pradesh Textile Technology Institute, Government Leather Institute formerly known as Government Leather Working School, Indian Institute of Pulses Research, National Sugar Institute, Institute of Productivity & Management, Government Polytechnic, Brahmanand Degree College, vssd Degree College, PPN Degree College, DAV Degree College, Halim Muslim Degree College, BNSD College, Christ Church College are some of the popular educational institutions of Kanpur city. There are more than 70 Agricultural, Degree, Engineering, Management and Medical colleges in Kanpur. Also in the city we have Central India Regional Council of Institute of Chartered Accountants of India. Apart from these there are various renowned schools (pre-primary to class XII). The oldest running is Methodist High School, Cantt. Kanpur, operating since 1876.



City centre

ZSquare Kanpur In its city centre, Kanpur or the Mall is situated near Civil Lines area. The area consists of varieties of buildings. It is the major economic centre of Kanpur. The area is of 10 km sq. and has a population of around 200,000. The renovation of city centre is carried under by JNNURM and Kanpur Municipal Corporation. Recently, musical fountains and expending of the Mall Road has taken place. Activities like protecting of old buildings of the 19th and 20th centuries has taken place in the area. The Reserve Bank of India, BSNL, SBI, Standard Chartered Bank, LIC, headquarters, Z SQUARE MALL are situated here. There are varieties of shops, buildings and hotels situated here. The pincode of the area is 208001. The area is also home to Green Park which was one of India's 5 cricket test centres.